Zimbabwe Olympic Committee Vice President Thabani Gonye will be running unopposed for the post of ZOC President during ZOC Board Elections scheduled for the 25th of April.

Also, read Zimbabwe Olympic Committee to amend its constitution

Gonye will be replacing Admire Masenda who has served as ZOC President for 14 years. Last month Zimbabwe Olympic Committee called for the nomination of candidates that aspired to be new office bearers of the Olympic movement.

Also, read Zimbabwe Olympic Committee elections: Nominations open on the 24th of February

After nominations Gonye is unopposed as the ZOC President whilst Zimbabwe netball association President Letitia Chipandu, Katty Lobb, Frederick Ndlovu, and Tendayi Tagara will battle it out for the two Vice President posts.

Another unopposed post is that of the Treasurer where Godfrey Tichakunda automatically becomes the ZOC Treasurer. A total of eleven candidates will battle it out for the board member position and these include former ZVA President Ringisai Mapondera, sports broadcaster Merit Munzwembiri, Charmine Chamboko, Abel Chimukoko, Letitia Chipandu, Frederick Ndlovu, Abigail Mnikwa, Chivonivoni Joy, Zumbarani Chipo, Tendayi Tagara and Stonard Mapfumo.

Also, read Zimbabwe Olympic Committee appoints Stephen Mudawarima as their new CEO

Only eight candidates will make it as board members. ZOC trustees and the Sports and Recreation Commission acting director-general will preside over the elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here