On Wednesday, Zimbabwe Cricket launched the National Premier League which is set to revive the local club cricket. The league will consist of 9 clubs around the country, this move might prove pivotal in reviving the Chevron’s performance.

Participating in the inaugural NPL are 9 teams namely Gladiators (Harare), Takashinga (Harare), Rainbow (Harare), Harare Kings (Harare), Amakhosi (Bulawayo), Queens (Bulawayo), Midwest (Kwekwe), Great Zimbabwe (Masvingo) as well as Easterns from Manicaland.

The NPL will start from this weekend on 4 October and end on the 1st of November. The League will involve only one round of fixtures and the winners will walk away with USD $10 000 while the runners up will get USD $5000. With Zimbabwe’s Tour of Pakistan getting closer, those selected for the national squad will use the platform to show Chevron fans what to expect.

Due to the covid 19 restrictions, fans will not be allowed inside the stadiums, this will be a huge blow to the vibrant HSC Castle corner crew.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here