Former Warriors captain Willard Katsande will be hosting the annual Willard Katsande Under 18 Football tournaments.This time around the tournament has changed to Mama Gladys Katsande Memorial Cup, this done in remembrance of the late defender mother Mrs Gladys Katsande who passed away this year in February.

The first edition of the Willard Katsande tournament kicked started in 2012 and since then the tournament has grown bigger and better. Sakubva based side La-Sakubva have scooped the cup the most haven won it twice in 2012 and 2016. In the year 2013 Redwing Mine FC were crowned champions, 2014 Chipinge Junior and Mweyamutsene from Marange are the current CHAMPIONS sadly they won’t be defending their title.

Some of Zimbabwe best footballers that have come out of the Willard Katsande tournament are Anelka Chiwandire who now plays for Triangle and Liberty Chakoroma who plays for Ngezi Platinum. A total of 19 clubs have confirmed their participation in the tournamen namely

1) La Sakubva
2) Sheckon
3) City Velloz
4) City Strikers
5) Safa
6) Faithdrive
7) P Stars
8) Golden Stars
9) Young Tigers
10) All Stars
11) Skyline
12) Sisal
13) Mutare Boys High
14) Brightstars, Marange
15) Matekenya Stars, Mutare South
16) Chipinge Stars
17) AS Academy, Harare
18) Mbare National Juniors
19) Ajax, Harare

After the Mama Gladys Katsande Memorial Cup we will go on and witness the third edition of the O.Kadewere Socccer Under 18 tournament in Highfields at Takashinga. The tournament is also in celebration and recognition of the work that Onias Kadewere did when he was alive. A gentleman passionate about grassroots football the brain behind the Highfield Soccer Academy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here